FanGraphs Baseball


RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. With a roster including about 32,624 pitchers in the 2010 All Star Game, I have to assume it’s an absolute certainty that an All Star will win this year’s Cy. Unless of course someone like Jeremy Guthrie finishes the season with 120 shutout innings.

    Comment by Jonathan — July 16, 2010 @ 3:43 pm

  2. Jerry Crasnick actually brought up an interesting bit of trivia recently. Lincecum won the Cy Young last year with a 15-7 record. Ubaldo already has 15 wins at the break. I know wins are antiquated, but I still think it’s an interesting tidbit. Anyone know/feel like looking up whether this has ever happened before besides years when relievers won the Cy?

    Comment by Ben — July 16, 2010 @ 3:45 pm

  3. Who was the last Cy Young pitcher to not be selected to the all star team?

    Comment by Eric — July 16, 2010 @ 3:53 pm

  4. Johan Santana, in 2004. I didn’t have to look it up or anything!

    Comment by Adam — July 16, 2010 @ 3:58 pm

  5. “All the pitchers that had a good first half are on display for the All-Star game.”

    Francisco Liriano would like a word with you.

    Comment by philkid3 — July 16, 2010 @ 4:24 pm

  6. Both pitchers had a decent first half? Decent? Wow.

    Comment by CBB — July 16, 2010 @ 4:31 pm

  7. Good work :)

    2004 Johan Santana 7-6 3.78 ERA 1.07 WHIP 4.4 SO/BB
    1996 Pat Hentgen 8-6 3.86 ERA 1.38 WHIP 1.3 SO/BB
    1993 Greg Maddux 8-8 2.83 ERA 1.10 WHIP 3.5 SO/BB
    1990 Doug Drabek 9-4 3.28 ERA 1.23 WHIP 1.7 SO/BB
    1989 Bret Saberhagen 8-4 2.61 ERA 1.04 WHIP 4.2 SO/BB
    1987 Roger Clemens 8-6 3.66 ERA 1.23 WHIP 2.3 SO/BB
    1985 Bret Saberhagen 10-4 2.78 ERA 1.08 WHIP 3.5 SO/BB

    How about Don Newcombe? He was an All Star in his first four full seasons [he missed a few years in the middle due to Korea].
    Anyways in 1956 he won the Cy Young AND the MVP and was not an All Star.

    His pre-ASG line was 11-5, 3.51 ERA 1.09 WHIP and 3.5 SO/BB…

    Comment by Eric R — July 16, 2010 @ 4:39 pm

  8. The think the Cy Young awards will go to Josh Johnson and Jon Lester (both on the all star roster) and I will guarantee at least one of them does.

    Comment by Jeremy — July 16, 2010 @ 5:50 pm

  9. The crazy thing about 1993 when Maddux won the Cy Young, three other Braves made the All-Star team (Smoltz, Avery and Glavine).

    Comment by Jeff Zimmerman — July 16, 2010 @ 6:08 pm

  10. And Felix Hernandez.

    Comment by Dwight S. — July 16, 2010 @ 6:33 pm

  11. “you’ll guarantee”?

    what, you’re secretly the entire BBWAA? in that case, where were you in 2007?

    Comment by fredsbank — July 16, 2010 @ 10:40 pm

  12. Carlos Marmol

    Comment by Yoloslim — July 16, 2010 @ 11:06 pm

  13. Stephen Strasburg?

    Comment by Guy — July 17, 2010 @ 4:50 am

  14. Felix Hernandez?

    Comment by Max — July 17, 2010 @ 7:50 am

  15. R.A. Dickey

    Comment by Derek — July 18, 2010 @ 11:05 pm

  16. Don’t forget that neither the 2nd nor 3rd place finishers in last year’s very close (among the top 3) NL Cy Young race (Carpenter and Wainwright) were an All-Star last year.

    Comment by Matthew — July 19, 2010 @ 3:22 am

  17. This year looks to be shaping up to be very tight as well: Johnson, Halladay, Jimenez, Wainwright.

    This will be a good barometer of whether advanced metrics are taken seriously or not. Jimenez or Wainwright will likely lead the league in W with good ERA’s, while Johnson and Halladay will be advanced metric leaders.

    Johnson seems to be having the same type of first half that Haren did last year, with a very long streak of starts allowing 2 runs or less. Halladay brings strong performance with name recognition. Wainwright is going to be in a similar position as last year, and Jimenez was the story if the first half (at least most of it).

    Johnson is the only one not involved in some sort of pennant chase, although recent history suggests that’s less of a factor as previous seasons.

    This year will be very interesting in regards to what aspects lead to award winners. There won’t be a “reigning champion” winning the award until he’s dethroned.

    Comment by CircleChange11 — July 19, 2010 @ 3:38 am

  18. Well, maybe, but there’s still a lot of baseball to be played and people’s memories tend to be remarkably short. By the end of the season the BWAA may be saying “Ubaldo Who?” (at least the way things are going at the moment).

    Comment by joser — July 25, 2010 @ 6:08 pm

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Close this window.

0.244 Powered by WordPress