Andy Hawkins had one for the Yankees against the White Sox in which he lost 4-0 with an eighth inning that went:
All four runs scored in that sequence. He later lost official credit for the no-hitter because the definition of a no-hitter was changed requiring nine innings pitched (the Yanks were on the road and the bottom of the ninth was not played).
This list doesn’t include those no-hitters, no longer recognized as such by MLB but still real in many of our minds, in which the no-hit pitcher not only allowed a run but also LOST the game. The one I have in mind was Andy Hawkins of the Yankees, when on July 1, 1990 he threw a no-hitter in Chicago, but his defense knifed him (the walks didn’t help) and he allowed FOUR runs in the eighth inning to lose 4-0. I think it was this game that caused MLB to redefine a no-hitter to say that it must be a 9-inning complete game, eliminating losing no-hitters on the road (but not at home??) and wiping out Hawkins’ feat.
I actually listened to this game on the radio, driving from New York to my home in Maine, and my recollection is that the 8th inning featured THREE errors and a couple of walks, and that there were two outs with no one on when the carnage started.
Anyway, if we are talking about no-hit efforts with runs allowed, it would be interesting to list the games wiped off the list by the decision of MLB, and include them in your article.
It doesn’t count for the same reason Hawkins’ didn’t–his team was away and lost so he didn’t pitch all nine innings: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/No-hitter
(search for “not credited”). Also that was a combined effort, with Jered Weaver and Jose Arredondo.
Something I’ve always wondered is how we are well aware of games like the one that just happened where he gave up his 1 hit in the final inning, but yet, if a pitcher throws what would be a perfect game, except for giving up say a leadoff single to the first batter of the day so we completely forget about it because it wasn’t a hit in the 9th inning as if this is somehow more special. Just bugs me.
Game was played at Dodger, Jered Weaver got the loss and only pitched 8 innings.
Comment by My echo and bunnymen — April 25, 2011 @ 11:00 am
That’d be too many games for me to remember. I suspect this is the same logic most people use, and though flawed is useful. Too much data is bad and not all of us is in the business of baseball stats.
Comment by My echo and bunnymen — April 25, 2011 @ 11:03 am
Probably the best-known game of this sort occurred on June 23, 1917. Babe Ruth was on the mound (remember him?) for Boston, and he walked the first batter on a 3-2 pitch that he thought was a strike. The young Ruth argued the call and was ejected. Ernie Shore came in to pitch, PICKED THE RUNNER OFF FIRST BASE, and retired the next 26 batters he faced. It is a combined no-hitter, but in fact Ernie Shore pitched as perfect a game as you possibly can (he faced 26 batters, and retired 27!) but does not get credit for a no-hitter, a perfect game, or really anything (I think it IS the longest relief outing without a baserunner, if that is something).
Ernie Shore threw nine innings without allowing a hit or a walk on June 23, 1917, but it’s not a no-hitter (for him).
Starter Babe Ruth walked the first batter, argued with the umpire, and got thrown out of the game. Shore then came in. The baserunner attempted to steal second but got thrown out. Shore got the next 26 men out.
So he threw 9 innings, allowed no walks, no hits, and no errors, but all he gets credit for is part of a shared no-hitter with Ruth.
Comment by Shattenjager — April 25, 2011 @ 11:37 am
The most obvious reason is that the sports media will start informing you in the middle of a game that Anibal Sanchez has a no-hitter through X innings, so I find out about it even if I’m sitting at home watching White Sox @ Tigers. Then they make a point to tell you again when it’s broken up, or if you’re not still at the TV, you probably go back to see what happened.
On the other hand, a guy who gives up a leadoff single and then retires 27 consecutive batters never had the potential for the no-hitter, so it’s unlikely to be given much special attention other than during the regular baseball coverage. I’d still find out about it reading the boxes and recaps, but will never have thought about it as a potential no-hitter even though the end result was more impressive than Sanchez’s performance.
So this ‘has to be nine innings to be a no-hitter’ rule seems a little odd. If the home-team pitcher throws a 9 inning no-hitter but loses, is it a no-hit loss? If an away pitcher pitches 8 &2/3 no-hitter but loses on a 2 out walk-off error in the 9th that isn’t a no-hit loss? What about throwing 9 innings of no-hit ball but losing on a walk-off error in the 10th? Is this the only way for an away pitcher to get a no-hit loss? Are there examples of any of these scenarios?
Nope. A complete game is a complete game, regardless of the number of innings – it can be exactly 9, less than 9 (in the case of a road loss or a weather-shortened game) or greater than 9. Regardless, you have to pitch the WHOLE game and give up no runs in order to be credited with a shutout; therefore, a shutout must be a victory.
I’m sure that’s the reason, warden. I was at that double header in April of ’92. The Indians won the 1st game despite being no-hit and then lost game 2 when Clemens tossed a 2 hitter. Not a lot of Cleveland offense that day, but they didn’t walk away empty handed.
It’s also mildy entertaining that your article references the “powerful Indians”. They had the personnel for their mid-90’s resurgence, but they clearly weren’t there yet in ’92, finishing 11th in the AL in runs scored. Although, for the purposes of that Matt Young game, they were 2nd in the AL in hits.
Jose Arredondo also pitched in that game. It is (assuming you count it as a no-hitter despite the 8-innings problem) one of two joint no-hitters in which the no-hit team won.
The other was a (9-inning) 1967 2-1 loss by the Orioles to the Tigers pitched by Steve Barber and Stu Miller– an unusually embarrassing game inasmuch as the Orioles pitchers somehow managed to lose the game despite getting a run in support of their bid! (The only other instance in which a pitcher received a run in support of a no-hit bid, but his team lost in nine innings anyway, was the 1992 Matt Young game, alluded to below.)
Andy Hawkins threw a no-hitter for the Yankees while losing 4-0 to the Chicago White Sox. Since Chicago was ahead after 8 1/2 innings, the White Sox did not go to bat in the bottom of the ninth… the game officially went nine innings but MLB wants to say that just because the pitcher himself did not pitch nine innings that it does not count! Yes it does, the game went nine innings, therefore it counts! MLB needs to remove its heads from its rear ends and include an exception to that stupid rule to allow official recognition for those who pitched eight innings but did not pitch the ninth inning due to being the pitcher of the road team since the home team is not required to go bat in the ninth if it is leading the game after 8 1/2 innings!