FanGraphs Baseball


RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. Actually he threw 1 pitch. Good write up as I see this play often in coaching kids as we try and teach them to stop throwing the ball around.

    Comment by mark — July 3, 2012 @ 1:08 pm

  2. Corbin most certainly threw a pitch to Weeks.

    Comment by milos — July 3, 2012 @ 1:11 pm

  3. Fixed. Thanks.

    Comment by Wendy Thurm — July 3, 2012 @ 1:16 pm

  4. The crazy part is, Gomez did something rather similar just 2 years ago.

    Comment by KidA — July 3, 2012 @ 1:18 pm

  5. The funny thing is that the pitchers must have thrown over to first more than a dozen times during Hart’s and Weeks’ at-bats before Gomez finally took off for the fateful play.

    Comment by Paul B — July 3, 2012 @ 1:29 pm

  6. Carlos Gomez is FAST.

    Comment by Justin — July 3, 2012 @ 1:29 pm

  7. Game from this year where winning run scored on a stolen base and error.

    Comment by Zack — July 3, 2012 @ 1:44 pm

  8. Thank you for that. The play did not come up in the Play Index, which gives me pause about the rest of the search. I’ve added it, above.

    Comment by Wendy Thurm — July 3, 2012 @ 1:49 pm

  9. I fear you just have bad data here. Jason Heyward scored on a SB of third + error earlier this year. I feel like that happens several times a year.

    Comment by TKDC — July 3, 2012 @ 1:51 pm

  10. Yes, that’s the play that Zack linked to, and that I added in the story.

    Comment by Wendy Thurm — July 3, 2012 @ 1:53 pm

  11. No problem. I only remembered it because it was quite painful to watch.

    Comment by Zack — July 3, 2012 @ 1:53 pm

  12. Please explain these awful uniforms. There is no possible excuse.

    Comment by RA Rowe — July 3, 2012 @ 2:11 pm

  13. That play was not a double error, however. It was a single error. I thought the key to the article was a winning run on two errors in one play. Unless I’m missing something…

    Comment by Eric — July 3, 2012 @ 2:29 pm

  14. For your enjoyment:

    Looks like the unis are commemorating Italian heritage day.

    Comment by Fletch — July 3, 2012 @ 2:29 pm

  15. I suspect scoring the game-winning run on a stolen base of third + an error is rare because baseball’s rule of thumb says that stealing third is a high-risk, low-reward play, and managers/players don’t like to risk getting thrown out at third when they’re already in scoring position with the game on the line.

    Have there been any three-error plays, game-winning or otherwise?

    Comment by Incitatus — July 3, 2012 @ 2:32 pm

  16. Eric – look again at the chart. Wendy has a separate column for Games with Winning Run Scoring on Stolen Base Plus Error

    Comment by Zack — July 3, 2012 @ 2:44 pm

  17. Thanks Zack – I didn’t look carefully enough!

    Comment by Eric — July 3, 2012 @ 3:02 pm

  18. Tyler Greene almost got (and possibly DID get) a game-tying run on one such play last month:

    Comment by tom — July 3, 2012 @ 3:51 pm

  19. I know the record keeping was shaky, but I would submit that this play most likely happened many, many times in the early years of baseball. Before the days of the HR being the way to score runs, teams had huge SB totals.

    Comment by Hurtlockertwo — July 3, 2012 @ 5:15 pm

  20. Like all great accomplishments, this was done by the O’s. On 2007 Apr 16 against the Rays in the bottom of the 3rd. According to the Wash Post, “It was the majors’ first three-error play since Houston did it at home against San Diego in the fourth inning on May 23, 1998.”

    Before that, 1982 Jul 31, Indians against the Brewers.

    Before that, the NYT has this really mean story about the Tigers getting 3E’s against the Yankees on 1976 May 13: Tigers laugher

    Before that, the Indians against the Tigers on 1958 Apr 18, about which the Toledo Blade wrote: “At least they were throwing the ball and trying to get the out.”

    Probably there are more? It’s unusual enough that it seems to make it into the newspapers when it happens. None of these were game-ending.

    Comment by X — July 3, 2012 @ 5:45 pm

  21. Therefore, the last column in the chart is incomplete.
    Understatement, the whole chart is garbage.

    Comment by Peter Jensen — July 4, 2012 @ 3:50 am

  22. Here’s hoping they drill Gomez next game for his showboating at the end.

    Comment by Matthew Weflen — July 5, 2012 @ 12:13 am

Leave a comment

Line and paragraph breaks automatic, e-mail address never displayed, HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Close this window.

0.263 Powered by WordPress