AFL-Bound Prospects, Sorted by MLB Team

Preliminary rosters for this year’s Arizona Fall League — i.e. the epicenter of prospect mavenry in the United States — were announced Tuesday. An equally preliminary glance around the internet reveals the absence of any sort of list of AFL-bound players sorted by major-league team — which, that seems like a helpful thing.

Below, I’ve included just such a list. Also, for the greater convenience of the baseball nerd, I’ve linked each player to his FanGraphs player page. Three 2011 draftees — Milwaukee’s Drew Taylor Jed Bradley, Seattle’s Danny Hultzen, and Tampa Bay’s Mikie Mahtook — have made no minor-league apperances yet, and thus have no player pages here at the site.

This year’s AFL teams (with home park in parentheses) are as follows:

MES: Mesa Solar Sox (Mesa Hohokam Park)
PEO: Peoria Javelinas (Peoria Sports Complex)
PHX: Phoenix Desert Dogs (Phoenix Municipal Stadium)
SLT: Salt River Rafters (Salt River Fields at Talking Stick)
SCO: Scottsdale Scorpions (Scottsdale Stadium)
SUR: Surprise Saguaros (Surprise Stadium)

In addition to the table below (which is best viewed not on Internet Explorer), roster data is available as a Google Doc here, for Maximum Sortability™.

Note: players are sorted by MLB team and then birth date. Birth dates are recorded as YYMMDD. Data courtesy

Name Pos DOB 40? MLB AFL
David Nick 2B 900203 No ARI SLT
Adam Eaton OF 881206 No ARI SLT
Eric Smith P 881015 No ARI SLT
Ryan Wheeler 3B 880710 No ARI SLT
Charles Brewer P 880407 No ARI SLT
Bryan Woodall P 861024 No ARI SLT
Christian Bethancourt C 910902 No ATL SUR
Sean Gilmartin P 900508 No ATL SUR
Todd Cunningham OF 890320 No ATL SUR
Phil Gosselin 2B 881003 No ATL SUR
Billy Bullock P 880227 No ATL SUR
J.J. Hoover P 870813 No ATL SUR
Erik Cordier P 860225 Yes ATL SUR
Xavier Avery OF 900101 No BAL MES
Joe Mahoney 1B 870201 Yes BAL MES
Brian Ward C 851017 No BAL MES
Chorye Spoone P 850916 No BAL MES
Sean Gleason P 850821 No BAL MES
Will Middlebrooks 3B 880909 No BOS SCO
Brock Huntzinger P 880702 No BOS SCO
Alex Hassan OF 880401 No BOS SCO
Daniel Butler C 861017 No BOS SCO
Jeremy Kehrt P 851221 No BOS SCO
Will Latimer P 851204 No BOS SCO
Junior Lake SS 900327 No CHC MES
Trey McNutt P 890802 No CHC MES
Marcus Hatley P 880326 No CHC MES
Jeff Beliveau P 870117 No CHC MES
Chris Carpenter P 851226 Yes CHC MES
Yasmani Grandal C 881108 Yes CIN PHX
Bradley Boxberger P 880527 No CIN PHX
Donnie Joseph P 871101 No CIN PHX
Brodie Greene SS 870925 No CIN PHX
Nick Christiani P 870717 No CIN PHX
Cody Puckett 2B 870403 No CIN PHX
Travis Webb P 840802 No CIN PHX
T.J. McFarland P 890608 No CLE PHX
Matt Packer P 870828 No CLE PHX
Austin Adams P 860819 No CLE PHX
Tyler Sturdevant P 851220 No CLE PHX
Nolan Arenado 3B 910416 No COL SLT
Tim Wheeler OF 880121 No COL SLT
Ben Paulsen 1B 871027 No COL SLT
Tyler Saladino SS 890720 No CWS MES
Brandon Short OF 880909 No CWS MES
Josh Phegley C 880212 No CWS MES
Terry Doyle P 851102 No CWS MES
Matt Hoffman P 881118 No DET SLT
Casey Crosby P 880917 No DET SLT
Tyler Stohr P 860919 No DET SLT
Danny Worth 3B 850930 Yes DET SLT
Will Rhymes 2B 830401 Yes DET SLT
Kyle Skipworth C 900301 No FLA SUR
Matt Dominguez 3B 890828 No FLA SUR
Alex Sanabia P 880908 Yes FLA SUR
Dan Jennings P 870417 No FLA SUR
A.J. Ramos P 860920 No FLA SUR
Paul Gran 3B 860407 No FLA SUR
Evan Reed P 851231 Yes FLA SUR
Kevin Mattison OF 850920 No FLA SUR
Jay Austin OF 900810 No HOU SLT
Jason Stoffel P 880915 No HOU SLT
Dallas Keuchel P 880101 No HOU SLT
Jake Goebbert OF 870924 No HOU SLT
Kody Hinze 1B 870729 No HOU SLT
Josh Zeid P 870324 No HOU SLT
Chris Hicks P 870217 No HOU SLT
Wil Myers OF 901210 No KC SUR
Christian Colon SS 890514 No KC SUR
Nathan Adcock P 880225 Yes KC SUR
Jeremy Jeffress P 870921 Yes KC SUR
Bryan Paukovits P 870629 No KC SUR
Brendan Lafferty P 860527 No KC SUR
Clint Robinson 1B 850216 Yes KC SUR
Mike Trout OF 910807 Yes LAA SCO
Jean Segura SS 900317 No LAA SCO
Daniel Tillman P 890314 No LAA SCO
Hank Conger C 880129 Yes LAA SCO
Chris Scholl P 871027 No LAA SCO
David Carpenter P 870901 No LAA SCO
Drew Taylor P 860818 No LAA SCO
Jake Lemmerman SS 890504 No LAD SLT
Angelo Songco 1B 880909 No LAD SUR
Steven Ames P 880315 No LAD SLT
Gorman Erickson C 880311 No LAD SLT
Josh Wall P 870121 No LAD SLT
Stephen Fife P 861004 No LAD SLT
Alex Castellanos OF 860804 No LAD SLT
Cole St. Clair P 860730 No LAD SLT
Kyle Russell OF 860627 No LAD SLT
Jed Bradley* P 900612 No MIL PEO
Scooter Gennett 2B 900501 No MIL PEO
Santo Manzanillo P 881220 No MIL PEO
Cody Scarpetta P 880825 Yes MIL PEO
Kentrail Davis OF 880629 No MIL PEO
Dan Meadows P 871103 No MIL PEO
Zelous Wheeler 3B 870116 No MIL PEO
Logan Schafer OF 860908 No MIL PEO
Brandon Kintzler P 840801 Yes MIL PEO
Aaron Hicks OF 891002 No MIN MES
Bruce Pugh P 880718 No MIN MES
Christopher Herrmann C 871124 No MIN MES
Brian Dozier SS 870515 No MIN MES
Brett Jacobson P 861109 No MIN MES
Cole DeVries P 850212 No MIN MES
Jefry Marte 3B 910621 No NYM PEO
Juan Lagares OF 890317 No NYM PEO
Taylor Whitenton P 880220 No NYM PEO
Collin McHugh P 870619 No NYM PEO
Reese Havens 2B 861020 No NYM PEO
Brandon Moore P 860124 No NYM PEO
Rob Segedin OF 881110 No NYY PHX
Corban Joseph 2B 881028 No NYY PHX
David Phelps P 861009 No NYY PHX
Ronnier Mustelier 2B 840808 No NYY PHX
Michael Choice OF 891110 No OAK PHX
Ryan Ortiz C 870929 No OAK PHX
Grant Green OF 870927 No OAK PHX
Ethan Hollingsworth P 870504 No OAK PHX
Tyson Ross P 870422 Yes OAK PHX
Dusty Coleman SS 870420 No OAK PHX
Tyson Gillies OF 881031 No PHI SCO
Colby Shreve P 880105 No PHI SCO
Tyler Cloyd P 870516 No PHI SCO
Jacob Diekman P 870121 No PHI SCO
Darin Ruf 1B 860728 No PHI SCO
Cody Overbeck 1B 860605 No PHI SCO
B.J. Rosenberg P 850917 No PHI SCO
Robbie Grossman OF 890916 No PIT MES
Brock Holt 2B 880611 No PIT MES
Jedd Gyorko 3B 880923 No SD PEO
Miles Mikolas P 880823 No SD PEO
Anthony Bass P 871101 Yes SD PEO
Jason Hagerty C 870913 No SD PEO
Jeff Ibarra P 870818 No SD PEO
James Darnell OF 870119 Yes SD PEO
Nick Schmidt P 851010 No SD PEO
Nick Franklin SS 910302 No SEA PEO
Danny Hultzen* P 891128 Yes SEA PEO
Forrest Snow P 881230 No SEA PEO
Brian Moran P 880930 No SEA PEO
Chih-Hsien Chiang OF 880221 No SEA PEO
Steven Hensley P 861227 No SEA PEO
Adam Moore C 840508 Yes SEA PEO
Brandon Crawford SS 870121 Yes SF SCO
Oscar Taveras OF 920619 No STL PEO
Justin Wright P 890818 No STL PEO
Keith Butler P 890130 No STL PEO
Matt Adams 1B 880831 No STL PEO
Ryan Jackson SS 880510 No STL PEO
Tyler Lyons P 880221 No STL PEO
David Kopp P 851022 No STL PEO
Tim Beckham SS 900127 No TB SUR
Mikie Mahtook* OF 891130 No TB SUR
Shane Dyer P 880309 No TB SUR
Tyler Bortnick 2B 870703 No TB SUR
Adam Liberatore P 870512 No TB SUR
Kirby Yates P 870325 No TB SUR
Marquis Fleming P 860911 No TB SUR
Leury Garcia SS 910318 No TEX SUR
Neil Ramirez P 890525 No TEX SUR
Johan Yan P 880927 No TEX SUR
Mike Olt 3B 880827 No TEX SUR
Miguel De Los Santos P 880710 Yes TEX SUR
Ryan Strausborger OF 880304 No TEX SUR
Ryan Kelly P 871030 No TEX SUR
Elio Sarmiento C 860620 No TEX SUR
Anthony Gose OF 900810 No TOR PHX
Adeiny Hechavarria SS 890415 Yes TOR PHX
Aaron Loup P 871219 No TOR PHX
Yan Gomes C 870719 No TOR PHX
Evan Crawford P 860902 No TOR PHX
Bryce Harper OF 921016 Yes WSH SCO
Derek Norris C 890214 No WSH SCO
Sammy Solis P 880810 No WSH SCO
Patrick Lehman P 861018 No WSH SCO
Rafael Martin P 840516 No WSH SCO

Print This Post

Carson Cistulli has just published a book of aphorisms called Spirited Ejaculations of a New Enthusiast.

Comments Are Loading Now!