SABR Analytics Awards Voting Now Open

We are proud to have three pieces from FanGraphs and three pieces from our partners at The Hardball Times nominated for the SABR Analytics Awards. However, we are also big fans of the great work being done at other publications, and think that every nominee listed below is worthy of your consideration. Please vote for whatever piece you feel best represents the category it was nominated in, regardless of where it was published.

Here’s your chance to vote for the 2013 SABR Analytics Research Awards winners.

To read any of the finalists, click on the link below. Scroll down to cast your vote.

Historical Analysis/Commentary

Contemporary Baseball Commentary

Contemporary Baseball Analysis

Voting will be open through 12 a.m. PST on Thursday, February 21, 2013. Details and criteria for each category can be found here. Only one work per author was considered as a finalist.

Now, cast your vote for the 2013 award winners!

Mobile and Safari users, click here to take the survey

Results will be announced and presented at the second annual SABR Analytics Conference, March 7-9, 2013, at the Sheraton Phoenix Downtown in Phoenix, Arizona. Learn more or register for the conference at

Print This Post

Dave is a co-founder of and contributes to the Wall Street Journal.

9 Responses to “SABR Analytics Awards Voting Now Open”

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed.
  1. Well-Beered Englishman says:

    Okay, denizens: please nominate the following.

    1. NotGraphs post of the year, 2012
    2. Reader comment of the year, 2012 (insight)
    3. Reader comment of the year, 2012 (comedy)
    4. Prettiest chart/graph by Bradley Woodrum, 2012

    Vote -1 Vote +1

  2. bobbsktball says:

    Wow. In reading the comments section of the Kenny article, I’m reminded why, though I often disagree, I come to this site to read baseball discussions. Trolls abound everywhere, but the tenacity to fundamental aspects of productive discussions is far higher here than the majority of sites elsewhere. Kudos to the posters and patrons of this site for establishing that standard and continuing the fight for it.

    Vote -1 Vote +1

  3. antonio bananas says:

    Brian Kenny deserves some sort of Baseball Nobel Peace award for writing that on The comments section FLIPPED shit. They all then had the same dumb arguments he squashed in the article.

    Vote -1 Vote +1

  4. Lois Lightman says:

    I want Wendy Thurm -Love her

    Vote -1 Vote +1