Who Speaks for Us?

Beloved, as you’ve undoubtedly already read, given that you are savvy denizens of the World Wide Web of Internets, the Baseball Writers Association of America (its induction ceremony pictured to the right) came to its senses yesterday and added FanGraphs to its list of BBWAA approved producers of baseball content.  Along with this designation, FanGraphs will undoubtedly receive a vote in upcoming award balloting for the AL and NL MVP, Cy Young, Rookie of the Year and Manager of the Year elections.  And in ten years, God-willing and the crik don’t run dry, a Hall of Fame vote (just in time to vote one last time for Tim Raines before he’s shuffled off the ballot…nice timing).

What has not been made clear is who will be doing the voting for FanGraphs.  Being that we value mob rule more than silly concepts like logic or fairness, it’s important that you make your voices heard above the din of the lot of us arguing that we deserve the vote more than Dave Cameron because we want it more (also known as the Charlie Bucket defense).

Anyway, please tell us who you would like to cast the important BBWAA votes for Fangraphs.  Make sure you read through all your options, and choose carefully.  In the interest of fairness, I’ve excluded myself as one of the choices, given how I’d win. For you have come to love me, but I don’t think I’ve been here long enough to deserve it.  Better to honor these men who built this city on rock and roll. It’s good that I’m humble enough to realize that.

Print This Post

Mike Bates used to have a stupid pseudonym. Now he doesn't because people want to pay him to write about baseball on the Internet and he's really a sell out that way. He is also a Designated Columnist at SBNation, co-founder of The Platoon Advantage, and is an American Carpetbagger on Getting Blanked, the finest in Canadian baseball-type sites. His favorite word is paradigm. Follow him on Twitter here: http://www.twitter.com/commnman

15 Responses to “Who Speaks for Us?”

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed.
  1. Cody says:

    Cameron 2012!

    Vote -1 Vote +1

  2. Sociology Degreeer says:

    Bruce Chen

    Vote -1 Vote +1

  3. olethros says:


    Vote -1 Vote +1

  4. Yirmiyahu says:

    When “Dick Allen” is an option on a poll, it is always the right answer.

    Vote -1 Vote +1

  5. SAmmy says:

    Carson wins poll, Charlie Blackmon wins ROTY and even gets some Cy Young votes.

    Vote -1 Vote +1

  6. Nathan says:

    Eric Sogard.

    Vote -1 Vote +1

  7. Bernie B. says:

    It seems entirely possible that a vote should be held in order to determine those of us who should be eligible to vote for the vote determining the eligibility to vote in the BBWAA vote.

    Vote -1 Vote +1

  8. Well-Beered Englishman says:

    I voted “set up a damn poll.”

    Fangraphs’ BBWAA votes are by community consensus!

    Vote -1 Vote +1

  9. reillocity says:

    Murray Chass.

    Vote -1 Vote +1

  10. glassSheets says:

    Is anybody else concerned about that picture? The “batter” appears able to deliver nothing more than a bottom of the teeball batting order quality swing. Hopefully the BBWA of today has someone more capable.

    Vote -1 Vote +1

  11. firnie14 says:

    Words cannot do justice to the amount of shock I am exhibiting to a poll–one regarding the approval of greatness–without Joe West.

    Vote -1 Vote +1

  12. nubillybaroo says:

    Dan Quissenberry

    Vote -1 Vote +1

  13. nubillybaroo says:

    You are all worthless unless you can some how take back Tom McCarver’s Ford C Frick award.

    Vote -1 Vote +1

  14. brett says:

    Electoral college, bitches!

    Vote -1 Vote +1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Current day month ye@r *