Log In   -   Register?

Sortable Draft Board!            Auction Calculator!            Probables Leaderboard!

But it wasn't Jay, who reached first on fielder's choice, but Craig who scored

0 votes
I don't see why, if the winning run was Craig, whom Uehara gave up a double to, it wasn't Uehara who should have taken the loss. Molina, whom Workman put on base and Uehara inherited, was erased on the fielder's choice. But so what? It was Craig who scored on the interference.
asked Oct 31, 2013 in FanGraphs Help by gratianus (3 points)

1 Answer

0 votes
Workman's runner was erased on an FC, which mean's Workman is still on the hook for the next runner. It's very clearly defined in the rule I cited in the previous question. Like it or not, it's how the rule works.
answered Oct 31, 2013 by Neil Weinberg (190 points)
So, had Pedroia decided that Molina would not head for home and had thrown to first but Jay beat it out and then on the next play another grounder to Pedroia resulted in what in fact happened (Molina thrown out at home and Craig given home on the interference call) then Uehara would have taken the loss? Obviously it bothers me that Uehara put Craig on base and yet escaped the loss.
No. That's still a FC. Workman gets the loss.